Suffocation – Pinnacle of Bedlam (2013)


Aging perfectly with time, today we have Death Metal legends Suffocation and their latest opus “Pinnacle of Bedlam”. As one of the first bands to mix technical elements into Brutal Death Metal, the band continues refining their skills and delivers ten killer tracks that put all the copycat kiddies to shame. For over 38 minutes, this release is guaranteed to rock you off your seat and induce a headbanging trance immediately.

Wasting no time, “Cycles of Suffering” explodes with crunchy riffs and crazy guitar leads all packed around hyper fast drumming and powerful deep growls. With Terrance Hobbs and Guy Marchais leading the riffing attack, “Purgatorial Punishment” is the quintessential Suffocation track that will immediately make your head start spinning with its raw power and unparalleled catchiness.

With Frank Mullen’s vicious vocals, tracks like “Eminent Wrath” and “Sullen Days” are made more powerful and crushing. Going from growls to the occasional screams adds versatility to the band’s already very diverse musical arsenal. Our favorite tracks in this stellar release include “Pinnacle Of Bedlam” and its super catchy melodic passages, “Inversion” and it’s sheer brutality contrasted by awesome guitar acrobatics, and the typical DM anthem “Rapture of Revocation”.

Overall, Suffocation shows that they are at the top of their game with the killer “Pinnacle of Bedlam”. The band does a great job in keeping their signature style while refining their instrument playing skills and delivering a mature and very well crafted release. If you are looking for a brutal, technical, and intricate Death Metal release, look no further and get this little gem.

Band: Suffocation Album: Pinnacle of Bedlam
Label: Nuclear Blast Records

Release: February 19th, 2013

Oficial Site myspace

Genre: Technical Brutal Death Metal

Country: USA

Rating: 88/100

Recent Image Galleries