Non Est Deus - Impious (2022)


As a side project of multi-instrumentalist Noise of Kanonenfieber fame, Non Est Deus delivers waves of superbly catchy Black Metal with a certain retro vibe. With nearly 40 minutes of music distributed in 8 crushing songs, this one-man battalion perfectly brings a nostalgic vibe that has been missed for a while.

The release kicks into full gear with “Save Us”, a crafty piece that creates a piercing atmosphere alongside furious riffs and tight drumming. We particularly like the subtle extra elements that add depth and atmosphere to this piece. Screaming 90’s BM catchiness, “Burn it Down” is one of those tracks that gets stuck in your head thanks to its chorus section, while “Fuck Your God”, “Celebrate The Selfdestruct”, and “Hexenwahn” inflict violent waves of tremolo picking ala Horna.

Bringing back to early Enthroned days, “Flagellation” and “Christraping Polka” are as in-your-face as you can expect with a playful mixture of harsh shrieks and deep firm vocals. Closing with the more melodic edge of “The Ascension”, Non Est Deus has managed to deliver one hell of a timeless sounding BM release. If you are a fan of a simpler and blasphemous Black Metal, this album is certainly for you.

Band: Non Est Deus Album: Impious

Label: Avantgarde Music | Noisebringer Records

Release: March 11th, 2022

Homepage Facebook

Genre: Black Metal

Country: Germany

Rating: 92/100

Recent Image Galleries