Me and that Man - New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1 (2020)


As the perfect companion for those gloomy days ahead, today we have Nergal’s Me and that Man band delivering “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1” a masterful apocalyptic/dark folk/rock release. Featuring eleven tracks filled with guest appearances this release unleashes an emotionally charged atmosphere filled will bluesy and folky vibes. If you are into Hexvessel, Grave Pleasures and King Dude, this release will hit close to home.

The release opens with the imposing “Run With The Devil”, which Jørgen Munkeby on vocals and sax, giving the song a very lively mood thanks to its catchiness and simplicity. Darkness descends upon listeners with the bluesy “Coming Home” and the eerie folky “Burning Churches” with Mat McNerney handling vocals alongside creepy chorus arrangements and lush acoustic guitars.

One of our favorite tracks has to be the somber “By TheRiver”, which features Ihsahn from Emperor fame. This track has a very fatalistic vibe to it, thanks to the awesome guitar solos and creepy humming. As the only track with no guest appearances, “Męstwo” showcases the band’s core skills with lush strumming guitars, Nergal’s clean vocals sung exclusively in Polish crafting an epic atmosphere that is both eerie and disarming.

With every single song being quite awesome, we could spend a few paragraphs talking about each one, however, standouts include the Americana-influenced “Deep Down South” which delivers devilish armonicas and a killer duet from Johanna Sadonis and Nicke Anderson, the mysterious “Man of The Cross” with a very hypnotic progression, and the extra creepy “Confession”, with none other than Niklas Kvarforth unleashing one of his signature weirdly intoxicating performances alongside lush string instruments.

Overall, “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1” is one of those releases that showcases tons of talent and ideas perfectly mixed in together to create a very cohesive and dark atmosphere. Nergal and company have managed to put together one of the catchiest and yet somber releases of 2020. Do not miss out on the soundtrack for the currently apparent end of times with Me and that Man and their ravaging music.

Band: Me and that Man Album: New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol.1

Label: Napalm Records

Release: March 27th, 2020

Homepage Facebook

Genre: Apocalyptic Folk/Rock

Country: Poland

Rating: 95/100

Recent Image Galleries