Within Temptation - Black Symphony (2008)

This in my opinion was the live DVD of the year (2008), it was recorded at a concert at Rotterdam's Ahoy Arena sold out months in advance. The band performed for 10,000 or so fans with the full Metropole Orchestra a classical choir, and with Sharon changing into several costumes.

I have previously watched the older Within Temptation live dvd’s and they don’t hold a candle to this one, production or content wise. The set list was as follows:

1. "Ouverture"
2. "Jillian (I'd Give My Heart)"
3. "The Howling"
4. "Stand My Ground"
5. "The Cross"
6. "What Have You Done" (with Keith Caputo)
7. "Hand of Sorrow"
8. "The Heart of Everything"
9. "Forgiven"
10. "Somewhere" (with Anneke van Giersbergen)
11. "The Swan Song"
12. "Memories"
13. "Our Solemn Hour"
14. "The Other Half (of Me)" (with George Oosthoek)
15. "Frozen"
16. "The Promise"
17. "Angels"
18. "Mother Earth"
19. "The Truth Beneath the Rose"
20. "Deceiver of Fools"
21. "All I Need"
22. "Ice Queen"

While all songs are perfectly performed, I have to say that the ones that really stand out is their total sell-out hit: What Have You Done with Keith Caputo, Forgiven quickly followed by Somewhere with Anneke and the last 5. While I think George Oosthoek’s appearance is pretty creepy since he has the crazy eyes poping out.

While I’ve loved their previous two dvd’s this surpasses them considerably, it’s probably the magical performance and the bigger production budget, but all WT fans will be greatly pleased by this live DVD.

The extras are plenty to keep you busy for a week, since they include among other things another live performance.

Band: Within Temptation Album: Black Symphony
Label: Sony BMG Year: 2008
Official Site
Genre: Gothic Metal/Rock

Country: Netherlands

Rating: 91/100

Bookmark and Share


Recent Image Galleries