Behexen – The Poisonous Path (2016)


Crawling out of the depths of Scandinavian hell, today we have Behexen and their long awaited release “The Poisonous Path”. Featuring over 55 minutes of ravaging Black Metal, the band continues to be at the top of their game when it comes to crafting brutally raw tracks. Not for the faint of heart, this is one of the premiere BM releases of 2016.

Unleashing their hateful musical onslaught with opener “The Poisonous Path” and the intense “The Wand of Shadows”, the band creates a very oppressive atmosphere filled with crushing riffs and the demoralizing vocals of Hoath Torog. As the album progresses with songs like “Cave of the Dark Dreams” and “A Sword of Protean Fire”, we noticed that there are some atmospheric elements thrown into the mix to make the band’s music more intense and expansive.

Not needing any introductions, Shatraug and Wraath deliver a sinister riffing performance on this release, and on tracks like “Umbra Luciferi” and “Chalice of the Abyssal Water”. The balance between imposing BM riffs and melodic sections is quite entertaining and allows for the band’s sound to be catchier and for heads to start banging. Ravaging pieces like “Pentagram of the Black Earth” also showcase the intensity behind the drums courtesy of Horns, and how the incorporate some Punk-ish/old-school BM elements into the mix.

Closing with the ritualistic and highly atmospheric “Rakkaudesta Saatanaan”, the band has managed to deliver one of the most complete and chilling Black Metal releases of 2016. If you like traditional Black Metal with solid and clean production values, this album will satisfy your cravings. This release is totally recommended for any fans of the band and the body of work of each of its member’s side projects.

Band: Behexen Album: The Poisonous Path

Label: Debemur Morti Productions

Release: May 27th, 2016

Official Site Social Media

Genre: Black Metal

Country: Finland

Rating: 93/100

Recent Image Galleries