PELICAN Announces New Album Details

Instrumental Quartet Readies Fourth Full-Length Album; First Release On Southern Lord

The mighty PELICAN are in the studio putting the finishing touches on their fourth studio album, entitled What We All Come To Need. What guitarist Laurent Lebec has dubbed “the most perfect synthesis of everything we've done to date, sonically”, this new album is a giant step forward within the complex, intricate, beautiful and crushing sound PELICAN is famous for. The album features more guests than have ever appeared on a PELICAN album before: Greg Anderson of sunn O))), Aaron Turner of Isis, Ben Verellen of Harkonen and Helms Alee and Allen Epley from The Life & Times and Shiner. Content-wise, Lebec says “there is a current of inspiration that feels particular to each album's music and titles. Though we lack a singer, the song names are often conceptual. This new album speaks to a rapidly decaying world, the fulfillment we find in each other, as well as the resolve to move beyond disillusionment.” If the recent Ephemeral EP is any indication of what’s to come, we can expect nothing less than the apex of PELICAN’s creative output.
If you are lucky enough to be in Seattle or NYC in the coming months, don't sleep on checking out the new songs live:
8/06/2009 Neumo's - Seattle, WA
9/22/2009 Brooklyn Masonic Temple - Brooklyn, NY
(*Both shows with sunn 0))), Eagle Twin and Earth)
What We All Come To Need Track Listing:
1) Glimmer
2) The Creeper
3) Ephemeral
4) Specks Of Light
5) Strung Up From The Sky
6) An Inch Above Sand
7) What We All Come To Need
8) Final Breath

Recent Image Galleries